How many countries are in South American?

How many countries are in South American?

twelve sovereign
The continent generally includes twelve sovereign states: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela; two dependent territories: the Falkland Islands and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; and one internal territory: French Guiana.

Are there 35 countries in South America?

The Americas comprise 35 countries, including some of the world’s largest countries, as well as several dependent territories.

What are the 17 countries in South America?

The countries included are: Argentina, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Dominican Republic and Uruguay.

People also asking:   Where is the Alaska Range?

What is the 14th country in South America?

Countries in South America by population (2022)
# Country (or dependency) Net Change
11 Brazil 1,509,890
12 Chile 164,163
13 Ecuador 269,392
14 Bolivia 159,921

What are the 3 biggest countries in South America?

Largest Countries in South America 2022
Rank Country Area
1 Brazil 8,515,767 km²
2 Argentina 2,780,400 km²
3 Peru 1,285,216 km²
4 Colombia 1,141,748 km²

How many country are in Asia?

There are 48 countries in Asia today, according to the United Nations. The full list is shown in the table below, with current population and subregion (based on the United Nations official statistics).

Why is Latin America called that?

The region consists of people who speak Spanish, Portuguese and French. These languages (together with Italian and Romanian) developed from Latin during the days of the Roman Empire and the Europeans who speak them are sometimes called ‘Latin’ people. Hence the term Latin America.

How many countries are there in world?

195 countries
Countries in the World:

There are 195 countries in the world today. This total comprises 193 countries that are member states of the United Nations and 2 countries that are non-member observer states: the Holy See and the State of Palestine.

How many countries are Europe?

There are 44 countries in Europe today, according to the United Nations.

What is capital of South America?

Caracas, named officially as Santiago de León de Caracas, is the capital of Venezuela and the country’s largest city. Caracas has a population of over 2.9 million people.

Venezuela – Caracas.
Country Capital
Uruguay Montevideo
Venezuela Caracas
People also asking:   How fast can horses run with a rider?

What is South America famous for?

South America is a continent of extremes. It is home to the world’s largest river (the Amazon) as well as the world’s driest place (the Atacama Desert).

Is Latin America a country?

Latin America is generally understood to consist of the entire continent of South America in addition to Mexico, Central America, and the islands of the Caribbean whose inhabitants speak a Romance language.

What are 10 facts about South America?

General Facts about South America
  • Total Population: 428 million people.
  • Largest city: Sao Paulo (Brazil)
  • Life expectancy: 72 (males) 79 (females)
  • Highest Mountain: Aconcagua (6962 meters above the sea)
  • Land area: 17,840,000 square kilometers (6,890,000 square miles)
  • Largest Lake: Lake Titicaca.
  • Longest River: Amazon River.

What is the smallest country by size in South America?

French Guiana is a French overseas department and the smallest country in mainland South America. Officially Co-operative Republic of Guyana, republic (2005 est. pop. 765,000), 83,000 sq mi (214,969 sq km), NE South America.

What is the smallest country in world?

the Vatican
With only 0.44 km², the Vatican in the heart of Rome is by far the smallest country in the world.

What are the 2 smallest countries in South America?

The Smallest Countries in South America
  1. Suriname – 163,820 sq km. Suriname’s territory covers an area of 63,252 square miles to become the smallest state in South America. …
  2. Uruguay – 181,034 sq km. …
  3. Guyana – 214,969 sq km. …
  4. Ecuador – 276,841 sq km. …
  5. Paraguay – 406,750 sq km.
People also asking:   What are the 7 oldest countries in the world?

Which is the largest world?

The largest country in the world is Russia with a total area of 17,098,242 Km² (6,601,665 mi²) and a land area of 16,376,870 Km² (6,323,142 mi²), equivalent to 11% of the total world’s landmass of 148,940,000 Km² (57,510,000 square miles). See also: Most Populous Countries.

What is the biggest place in Asia?

City Urban aggl. Urban area
Tokyo 39,105,000 8,231 Km²
Jakarta 35,362,000 3,541 Km²
Delhi 31,870,000 2,233 Km²
Manila 23,971,000 1,873 Km²

How many countries India have?

India & Its Neighbouring Countries
Country India
Number of Neighbouring Countries 9
Length of Land Border 15,106.7 km
Coastline 7,516.6 km
6 Sept 2020

What is the name of Europe countries?

Europe is one of the seven continents making up about 2% of Earth’s surface with a total area of 10,180,000 km².

EU Med Group
  • Croatia.
  • Cyprus.
  • France.
  • Greece.
  • Italy.
  • Malta.
  • Portugal.
  • Slovenia.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top